Dehai News

Dahabshiil long banner 728x90
Eritrea for mobile viewing

(Tour du Rwanda) Edwin Ávila from Israel Cycling Academy wins stage 4 as Merhawi Kudus retains the yellow jersey

Posted by: Semere Asmelash

Date: Thursday, 28 February 2019


Edwin Ávila from Israel Cycling Academy wins stage 4 as Merhawi Kudus retains the yellow jersey

27 February 2019  

Making his second appearance at the Tour du Rwanda just like his team Israel Cycling Academy, Colombian Edwin Ávila put on a stunning performance to win stage four-Rubavu-Karongi (102.6km) hence bringing to an end a two-day strong dominance by yellow jersey holder Merhawi Kudus with his team Astana Pro Team.

The 29-year old who made his debut appearance in 2017 with Team Illuminate from the USA in which he fell short of a stage win during stage three; Rubavu-Musanze at the hands of eventual tour winner Joseph Areruya made sure the same history doesn’t repeat itself as he attacked in the final 4km and subsequently claimed the stage.

He posted 02h37’32" well beating Pablo Torres Muiño from Pablo Interpro Cycling Academy to the finish line despite clocking the same time while Sirak Tesfom from Eritrea and defending champion Samuel Mugisha from Team Dimenson Data for Qhubeka Continental team who came in the third and fourth places respectively each clocking 02h37’35".

This marked the second stage win for Israel cycling Academy following a stage one (Kigali-Ngoma) win courtesy of Guillaume Boivin.

Yellow jersey holder Kudus came in the 24th place 05’43” behind posting 02h43’15’’ nonetheless he retained his lead following a very strong performance on Tuesday during stage three.

The race kicked off with one lap by the shores of L.Kivu in Rubavu before riders started climbing up to the first KOM of the day that was after 8.2km which was taken by Hailemichael Mulu of Dimension Data beating Torres Muiño Pablo of Interpro Cycling Academy and Andemeskel Awet from Israel Cycling Academy.

Moise Mugisha of Team Rwanda took the second KOM points of the day at Kamiko after 24.7km beating Andemeskel Awet and Torres Muiño Pablo.

28km into the race a total of 16 riders established a breakaway which had a 20” lead on the chasing group and 3’ on the peloton and after 61km, only four riders were in the breakaway and these included eventual stage winner Edwin Ávila, Samuel Mugisha, Araujo Bruno and Torres Muiño Pablo.

Torres Muiño Pablo took the final KOM points beating the trio in the breakaway was after 70km and with 20km remaining, Bruno Araujo had dropped from the breakaway which was leading the chasing group by 45” and 4’45” on the yellow jersey peloton.

As the trio reached in the final 4km, Edwin Ávila made an attack and despite a strong follow up by Pablo Torres Muiño, he managed to win his first stage on the African soil.

The 29-year old riders had before in Asia, Europe and South America.

Following this triumph, Edwin Ávila now stands 29th on the general classification up from 36th while Merhawi Kudus keeps the lead for having so far used the least time 13h48’19’’ with Taaramae Rein in the second place, 17 seconds behind while Badilatti Matteo comes in the third place with 13h49’04’’, 45 seconds behind.

Meanwhile on Thursday, Stage five will kick off from Karongi and head to Musanze where riders will cover a total distance of 138.7 km.

Classifications 2019 after the stage 4

We. 27/02 | Stage 4 | 102.6km | Rubavu > Karongi

Stage Winner

Stage classification

1 Edwin Alcibiades AVILA VANEGAS 71 Israel Cycling Academy 02H37'32"
2 Pablo TORRES MUIÑO 115 Interpro Cycling Academy 02H37'32"
3 Sirak TESFOM 31 ERYTHREE 02H37'35"
4 Samuel MUGISHA 1 Dimension Data For Qhubeka 02H37'35"
5 David LOZANO RIBA 81 Team Novo Nordisk 02H37'37"
6 Adrien GUILLONNET 112 Interpro Cycling Academy 02H37'37"
7 Didier MUNYANEZA 104 Benediction Excel Energy 02H37'37"
8 Alessandro FEDELI 52 Delko Marseille Provence 02H37'37"
10 Yuriy NATAROV 24 Astana Pro Team 02H37'41"

General classification

General classification

1 Merhawi KUDUS 21 Astana Pro Team 13H48'19"
2 Rein TAARAMAE 41 Direct Energie 13H48'36"
3 Matteo BADILATTI 73 Israel Cycling Academy 13H49'04"
4 Hernan Ricardo AGUIREE CAIPA 111 Interpro Cycling Academy 13H49'19"
5 Sirak TESFOM 31 ERYTHREE 13H52'33"
6 Awet ANDEMESKEL 72 Israel Cycling Academy 13H52'48"
7 David LOZANO RIBA 81 Team Novo Nordisk 13H52'59"
8 Suleiman KANGANGI 151 Kenya 13H53'15"
10 Didier MUNYANEZA 104 Benediction Excel Energy 13H56'36"

King of the Mountains

Best Sprinter

Best Young

Best African

Team classification

Dm eri tv subscribe

ክልተ ቕነ ኣብ ድፍዓት ብደራሳይ ኣቶ ኣለምሰገድ ተስፋይ ተደርሰት ብቛንቋ ጀርመን ተቶርጊማ ብዕለት 4 ግንቦት 2019 ኣብ ከተማ ማንሃይም ሃ/ጀርመን ተመሪቓ ንመጀመርያ ግዜ ኣብ ሃገረ ጀርመን ተዘርጊሓ ኣላ

Dehai Events