Dehai News

Dahabshiil long banner 728x90
Eritrea for mobile viewing

(KT Press) List of Nominees for African Best Cyclist of the Year

Posted by: Semere Asmelash

Date: Tuesday, 27 November 2018

List of Nominees for African Best Cyclist of the Year

Amanuel Ghebreigzabhier

This trophy was created six years ago by the organizers of the Tropicale Amissa Bongo, always anxious to encourage the development of African cycling by rewarding the rider who has achieved the best performances of the season and managed by its influence to make known African cycling on the world stage.

The jury of this trophy is chaired by the former five-time winner of the Tour de France, Bernard Hinault and is composed of sports directors, coaches, leaders, African runners, African and European journalists.

The next nominee to be nominated on December 21st will succeed Natnael Berhane (2012), Louis Meintjes (2013, 2017), Mekseb Debesay (2014), Daniel Teklehaimanot (2015) and Tesfom Okubamariam (2016).
The fifteen African cyclists were nominated on Monday by the organization of the cycling race “La Tropicale Amissa Bongo”. The winner will be announced on December 21, 2018 to replace reigning champion South African cyclist Louis Meintjes.

1. Areruya Joseph (Rwanda – Delko-Marseille)

2. Cisse Isiaka (Ivory Coast)

3. De Bod Stefan (South Africa – Dimension Data for Qhubeka)

4. Ghebreigzabhier Amanuel (Eritrea – Dimension Data)

5. Hendrickx Clint (South Africa – Bike Aid)

6. Impey Daryl (South Africa – Michelton-Scott)

7. Kamzong Clovis (Cameroon)

8. Kipkemboi Salim (Kenya – Bike Aid)

9. Kudus Merhawi (Eritrea – Dimension Data)

10. Lagab Azzedine (Algeria – GSP)

11. Mugisha Samuel (Rwanda-Dimension Data for Qhubeka)

12. Mulubrhan Henok (Eritrea)

13. Reguigui Youcef (Algeria – Sovac)

14. Sorgho Mathias (Burkina Faso)

15. Uwizeyimana Bonaventure (Rwanda)

 Past African Cyclist of the Year Award Winners

2012: Natnael Berhane (Eritrea)

2013: Louis Meintjes (South Africa)

2014: Mekseb Debesay (Eritrea)

2015: Daniel Teklehaimanot (Eritrea)

2016: Tesfom Okubamariam (Eritrea)

2017: Louis Meintjes (South Africa)
The organizers of the Tropicale Amissa Bongo have unveiled the list of 15 nominees for the title of the best African cyclist of the year 2018.

This trophy created in 2012 aims to reward the cyclist who, through his results on the continent and the rest of the planet, has contributed more to disseminate and publicize cycling in Africa.

A jury chaired by Bernard Hinault, the five-time winner of the Tour de France, which includes athletic directors, coaches, African cyclists, and African and European journalists, will vote for the successor of Natnael Berhane (2012), Louis Meintjes (2013, 2017) , Mekseb Debesay (2014), Daniel Teklehaimanot (2015), and Tesfom Okubamariam (2016)

The results will be announced on December 21.

The 15 nominees:
Dm eri tv subscribe

Danakali's new CEO leads development of unique Colluli Potash Project in Eritrea