Dehai News

Tropical Amissa Bongo: Eritrean Biniam Girmay elected African cyclist 2020

Posted by: Semere Asmelash

Date: Monday, 21 December 2020

Tropical Amissa Bongo: Eritrean Biniam Girmay elected African cyclist 2020

 Sydney IVEMBI  December 21, 2020  

Eritrean Biniam Girmay of the French team Nippo Delko One Provence is the winner of the African Cyclist of the Year 2020 Trophy, a press release from the organizers announced.

The distinction was created nine years ago by the organizers of the Tropicale Amissa Bongo, always keen to help the development of African cycling by rewarding the rider from the continent who achieved the best performances of the season and succeeded by his influence at to promote African cycling on the world stage.

Biniam Girmay, fifth in this Trophy in 2019, obtained this year the highest number of votes from the jury chaired by the five-time winner of the Tour de France, Bernard Hinault and composed of twenty-five members including riders, coaches and African leaders, organizers of cycling events on the continent but also specialist journalists, African and European, who follow all cycling races in Africa. Thomas Voeckler was the godfather of this election.

BERNARD HINAULT (President of the Jury): “Biniam Girmay is a great Hope in African cycling. Last year, he beat André Greipel in the sprint on the Tropical Amissa Bongo, which was already a benchmark. He won two new stages this year but also shone in very tough races in Europe. He progresses very quickly thanks to his natural puncher qualities. We will hear from him in the years to come. It's a certainty. "

Biniam Girmay owes this distinction to his two stage victories at the Tropicale Amissa Bongo at the start of the season but also to his performances in Europe with the Marseille team of Nippo-Delko One Provence, with his 2 nd very promising places in the Laigueglia Trophy in Italy and the Tour du Doubs counting for the Coupe de France.
It is another Eritrean Natnael Tesfatsion who finishes 2 nd in this 2020 ranking followed by Rwandan Moïse Mugisha.


1– Biniam GIRMAY (Eritrea - Nippo Delko One Provence)
2 - Natnael TESFATSION (Eritrea - NTT Continental)
3 - Moïse MUGISHA (Rwanda - Skol Adrien Cycling Academy)
4 - Henok MULUBRHAN (Eritrea - NTT Continental)
5 - Daryl IMPEY (Africa du Sud - Mitchelton-Scott)
6 - Paul DAUMONT (Burkina Faso)
7 - Clovis KAMZONG (Cameroon - SNH)
8 - Youcef REGUIGUI (Algeria - Terengganu Cycling Team)
9 - Yakob DEBESAY (Eritrea - Groupama-FDJ Continental)
10 - Hailemichael MULU (Ethiopia - Nippo Delko One Provence)

2012: Natnael BERHANE (Eritrea)
2013: Louis MEINTJES (South Africa)
2014: Mekseb DEBESAY (Eritrea)
2015: Daniel TEKLEHAIMANOT (Eritrea)
2016: Tesfom OKUBAMARIAM (Eritrea)
2017: Louis MEINTJES (South Africa)
2018: Joseph ARERUYA (Rwanda)
2019: Daryl IMPEY (South Africa)
2020: Biniam GIRMAY (Eritrea

Source: Com Tropicale

Biniam Girmay, de Eritrea mejor ciclista de África en 2020

Tropicale Amissa Bongo : l'Erythréen Biniam Girmay élu ...


Ciclista Africano dell'Anno, premiato il giovane talento Biniam ...


El eritreo Biniam Girmay elegido mejor ciclista africano de 2020

Eritrea 🇪🇷 is self reliance country