Dehai News Biniam Ghirmay makes history at Ghent-Wevelgem 2022

Posted by: Semere Asmelash

Date: Sunday, 27 March 2022

cycling news

Biniam Ghirmay makes history at Ghent-Wevelgem 2022

Biniam Ghirmay makes history at Ghent-Wevelgem 2022
EFE Road Competition 03/27/2022

The Eritrean cyclist Biniam Girmay Hailu (Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert) made history this Sunday by winning the 84th edition of the Belgian classic Ghent-Wevelgem, disputed over 248.8 kilometers starting in Ypres and finishing in Wevelgem, and becoming the first cyclist from his country than to win the race.

Biniam Girmay, born 21 years ago in Asmara, won a four-man sprint after beating Frenchman Christophe Laporte (Jumbo-Visma) and Belgian Dries Van Gestel (TotalEnergies) in the last 250 meters of this classic cobblestone. He thus achieved the most important victory of his short sports career and made history for his country.

The Eritrean was part of the group of four escapees with 24 kilometers to go. The quartet stood out until the victory was disputed in a sprint in which Biniam Girmay was the most powerful, beating Laporte and the Belgians Dries van Gestel and Jasper Stuyven (Trek-Segafredo).

"It's unbelievable, amazing. I couldn't wait for this. We just changed the plan a few days ago, on Friday. We just came for a good result. This race is unbelievable. Unbelievable," said Biniam Girmay after winning the race.

The Eritrean says that the safest thing is that he will not play the Tour of Flanders. "I've been here a long time, three months. I miss my wife and daughter, so I'm coming home," he said.

Biniam Girmay succeeded Belgian Wout van Aert, winner of the last edition (2021), in the Ghent-Wevelgem honors.


Classification of the Ghent-Wevelgem 2022:
1. Biniam Ghirmay Hailu (ERI/Intermarché-Wanty) - 5:37:31
2. Christophe Laporte (FRA/Jumbo-Visma) - mt
3. Dries Van Gestel (BEL/TotalEnergies) - mt
4. Jasper Stuyven (BEL/ Trek-Segafredo) - mt
5. Soren Kragh Andersen (DEN/Dsm) at 0:08
6. Tim Merlier (BEL/Alpecin-Fenix) at 0:08
7. Mads Pedersen (DEN/Trek-Segafredo) at 0:08
8. Iván García Cortina (ESP/Movistar) at 0:08
9. Matej Mohoric (SLO/Bahrain-Victorious) at 0:08
10. Arnaud Démare (FRA/Groupama-FDJ) at 0:08

EFE - Agencia EFE

ደርፊ ሻማ - መርሃዊ ተወልደ and Cos!!