Dehai News Eritrea wins first place in team time trial for the 7th year in a row at the African Continental Cycling Championship

Posted by: Semere Asmelash

Date: Tuesday, 14 February 2017 

Eritrea catchall in the team time trial of the African Championships 

February 14, 2017 

In the popular resort of Luxor you are going on the African Championships of road cycling . Today it was the turn of the clock at the elite teams in the male , held along the distance of 56 km, to prevail was the ' Eritrea with time of 1h08'42 ", which has deployed the quartet Meron Abraham, Amauel Gebreigzabhier, awet Hambtom and Meron Teshome. Second in 1'54 "it was ranked Algeria (Abdelkader Belmokhtar, Abdallah Benyoucef, Azzedine Lagab and Abderrahmane Mansouri), third at 3'43" Rwanda (Areuya Joseph, Samuel Mugisha, Valens Ndayisenga and Jean Bosco Nsengimana). 

Completing the order of arrival Ethiopia in 3'54 ", Egypt to 4'01", Burkina Faso to 9'15 ", the Seychelles to 9'18", Nigeria to 9'25 ", Kenya to 9'37 ", Sudan to 16'36" and 24'10 in Djibouti ". 

Same winning nation also in the race female : in the 36 km race the ' Eritrea (Mossana Debesay Wegaheta Gebrihiwt, Bisrat ghebremeskel and Wehazit Kidane) beat of only 10 "Ethiopia (Selam Amha, Tsega Beyene, Birham Fkadu Abrha and Eyeru Gebru). The other two competing nations have been classified as follows: Egypt third at 1'42 "and Nigeria fourth at 4'56". 

---Software translation 

The podium of the men's team time trial at the African Championships


Team Rwanda win bronze at African Championships 

PUBLISHED: February 14, 2017 


Elite Men & U23 Team Time Trial 

1.Eritrea 1h:08’:42” 
2.Algeria 1h:10’:36” 
3.Rwanda 1h:12’:27” 
4.Ethiopia 1h:12’:36” 
5.Egypt 1h:12’:43” 
6.Burkina Faso 1h:17’:57” 
7.Seychelles 1h:18:00” 

The national cycling team ‘Team Rwanda’ has made a flying start at the ongoing 2017 African Continental championships in Luxor; Egypt after scooping a bronze medal in the Elite Men Team Time Trial. 

Team Rwanda claimed this historic medal after posting one hour, 12 minutes and twenty-seven seconds settling for a third place behind gold winners Eritrea that covered the 58.8 kilometers in 1h:08’:42 while Algeria claimed a silver medal after finishing second clocking 1h:10’:36”. 

This is Rwanda’s first ever team medal at the annual event. 

Team Rwanda had fielded the quartet of two-time Tour du Rwanda winner Valens Ndayisenga (2014 and 2016), 2015 champion Bosco Nsengimana and South Africa’s Dimension Data for Qhubeka duo of Samuel Mugisha and Joseph Areruya. 

Despite a very unfortunate start by the local riders according to reports from Egypt that included misdirection where the police is alleged to have guided the riders into a wrong course before some crushing along the race, the quartet displayed a spectacular performance hence claiming a podium finish. 

Team Rwanda finished the 57.8 kilometers distance at an average speed of 46.369km/h in a race that had attracted a total of 10 teams. 

The experienced Eritrean quartet of Abraham Meron, Gebreigzabhier Amanuel, Habtom Awet, Teshome Meron successfully defended their title as Algeria settled for a silver medal for the second time in a row. 

Algeria team comprised of Lagab Azzedine, Belmokhtar Abdelkader, Mansouri Abderrahmane And Benyoucef Abdallah. 

Ethiopia (1h:12’:36”), host Egypt (1h:12’:43”), Burkina Faso (1h:17’:57”) and Seychelles 1h:18:00” settled for the fourth, fifth, sixth and seventh places respectively.
Dm eri tv subscribe

ድምጺ ሓፋሽ መደብ መንእሰያት: መንእሰያትን ባህላዊ ወራራን - 18 ሚያዝያ 2018

Dehai Events

Hdri Media Books on