Dehai News

Ouest-France: Eritrean Issak Tesfom Okubamariam (Interpro) confirmed his status as Best African of the Year by finishing second overall

Posted by: Semere Asmelash

Date: Sunday, 05 March 2017

tab meron

*The 7th and final stage of the Tropical Amissa Bongo has just ended. Run between Owendo and Libreville for a distance of 137.5 km, this stage saw the victory of the Eritrean Meron Abraham.

Modified on 05/03/2017 at 18:12 | Published on 05/03/2017 at 18:12 - 0

The Frenchman Yohann Gène won during the Tropicale. | Photo: AFP

By Ouest-France (avec AFP)

Frenchman Yohann Gene won the Tropicale in front of Okubamariam and Holler. The Frenchman finished the race in 19 hours 41 minutes and 21 seconds.

Frenchman Yohann Gène (Direct Energie) won Sunday in Libreville the Tropical Cyclist in Gabon, marked by the official announcement of the cancellation of local cyclists in response to their boycott of the main African cycling race.

"It's true that it's a new victory so it's good," said Gene, 35, the winner of the Tropical in 2013 and seven stages in total since his first appearance in 2009. "There are two Or three days, we thought it was going to be complicated and we reversed the trend, "added team-mate Thomas Voecler, winner of Friday's stage before managing the circuits in Libreville on Saturday and Sunday.

Eritrean Issak Tesfom Okubamariam (Interpro) confirmed his status as Best African of the Year by finishing second overall at the end of the 137.5-kilometer sprint finish by his compatriot Méron Abraham.

"African cyclists from year to year confirm. We have seen in the different stages that often they are attacking, "said the press Gabonese President Ali Bongo, who on the other hand evaded the issue of the defection of the national team.

Gabonese cyclists boycotted "their" Tropicale from the start last Monday in Franceville, protesting unpaid bonuses and lack of physical preparation since the departure of their coach, the former Spanish glory Abraham Olano. "We took very strong measures: the technical management was sacked, the president of the Federation was summoned to resign and the six riders were struck out," sports minister Nicole Asselé told the press on the line Of arrival. This is a lifetime radiation from the Gabonese press.

General classification

1. Yohann Gene (FRA / Direct Energie) 19h41: 21.
2. Issak Tesfom Okubamariam (ERI / Cycling Academy) at 16 sec
3. Nikodemus Holler (ALL / Bike Aid) m.t
4. Salaheddine Mraouni (MAR) m.t
5. Soufiane Sahbaoui (MAR) at 17 sec

foto van Tropicale Amissa Bongo.
The Podiums and Jerseys of Stage 7

Dm eri tv subscribe

Embassy Media Interview with Mr Ahmed Omer Sheikh

Dehai Events

Hdri Media Books on